Still On A Strict Diet of Omaha

My poker playing has been rather spotty over the past few weeks due to work and other obligations. However, when I do play it is 100% Omaha and nothing else. I just can’t get enough of the game and it has really gotten me excited about playing again. I was just getting so incredibly bored with hold’em. I’ve always considered myself a pretty decent Omaha player, but now I’m really hunkering down and trying to master the game. In fact, when it comes to other forms of poker, ie. Omaha, 7 stud, razz, pineapple, 2-7, and hi-lo games, I’ve always been good enough at these different forms of poker to be a winning player at each of these games up to certain levels. The thing is though, while I consider myself good at all of them, I don’t consider myself really good or great at any of them. This is something I would like to change and for the foreseeable future I’m going to try to get really good at Omaha. With the right amount of patience and dedication, there is really no reason why I couldn’t get there one day.

Omaha, IMO, is much more interesting and presents so many more variables than hold’em. I’m really hooked!!…and just have an insatiable appetite for all things Omaha. Unfortunately, there are just not the same resources available for Omaha as there are for hold’em. The things I’m looking for are more advanced type stuff that I can figure out myself, but it takes longer to do the thought and analyzing myself rather than just reading it in a book or on the web. I guess I’m looking for the easy way out, but I’m also kind of glad not that much information is out there because once I figure something out, I don’t have to worry about too many others to be armed with the same knowledge. So I guess learning is that much harder, but at the same time I don’t worry about too many others having access to more advanced information like everyone seems to have in hold’em these days with all of the resources that are available. Recently, I have found myself spending more time thinking and analyzing than actual playing. I really think this has helped my game tremendously. In the middle of the day, I might think of a certain situation that comes up in Omaha so I write it down so I won’t forget about it and then when I get home in the evenings, I do the analysis.

When I have played recently, I’ve done rather well. I maybe could have won more than I have, but I’ve been trying different things which has on one hand helped me figure some things out, but on the other hand has probably hurt my win rate. I’ve still managed to work my way up in pretty quick fashion. In 3 to 4 months of playing part time, I’ve worked my way up from $.10/$.25 up to $2/$4. Once up to $2/$4 I went on a 10 buy-in downswing and dropped back down to$1/$2 where I dropped another 10 buy-ins before turning things around and now have gotten about 10 buy-ins back. Part of my downswing was due to just running bad, but there were also a lot of hands that I would like to have back to play over. I definitely made some mistakes which were costly. When you run well for a while you start to feel like you’re invincible and can win with any hand every hand which obviously just isn’t the case. Before you know it, you’re calling raised and re-raised pots from the small blind w/ hands like K852 rainbow. Well maybe not that bad but you get the idea. Anyway, I have re-focused and have plugged that leak which was part leak and part trying different things.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

